Kinda the same but different

Today’s Quote: “Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.” ~ Arthur C. Clarke (1917-2008)


Song: No No Song
Artist: Ringo Starr
Album: Goodnight Vienna
Released: 1974
Notes: This is such a fun song to listen to while getting high. That’s what I’ve heard.


I watched an episode of Gene Simmon’s Family Jewels the other evening in which Shannon Tweed challenged Gene to take a lie detector test to find out if he’s been faithful since they began living together in 1983. He passed the test but I take issue with the way the question was worded. He was asked if he had “made love” to a woman other than Shannon since they’d been together. Of course, he answered, “No.” He was not asked if he’d had sex with another woman during that time. There’s a not so subtle difference between the two questions and Gene Simmons seems to be the kind of guy to know and take advantage of that difference. Making love and having sex are not synonymous. One can have sex without making love.

It’s like during the Monica Lewinski incident when Bill Clinton said, “I did not have sex with that woman.” In his mind, getting a hummer and having sex were two totally separate things. As someone slightly famous once said, “Oral sex and regular sex aren’t the same. That’s why they have different prices.”


Can you believe it? I gave up something for Lent and I have successfully abstained from it for 44 days (38 days of Lent plus 6 Sundays). I’ve never maintained a Lenten vow of abstinence from anything this long before. There are very few pleasures I’ve voluntarily abstained from for this long.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.