WWJD

Today’s Quote: “…secrecy is the keystone of all tyranny. Not force, but secrecy . . . censorship. When any government, or any church for that matter, undertakes to say to its subjects, ‘This you may not read, this you must not see, this you are forbidden to know,’ the end result is tyranny and oppression, no matter how holy the motives. Mighty little force is needed to control a man whose mind has been hoodwinked; contrariwise, no amount of force can control a free man, a man whose mind is free. No, not the rack, not fission bombs, not anything– you can’t conquer a free man; the most you can do is kill him.” ~ Robert Heinlein, Revolt in 2100


Song: No No Song
Artist: Ringo Starr
Album: Goodnight Vienna
Released: 1974


I find it amazing, and disturbing, how openly and loudly people discuss their personal lives on their cell phones. If they think we might be listening, they look at us as though we’re the ones being rude. Do they believe there’s a cone of silence around them? Yes, we can hear you. The cone of silence didn’t work on Get Smart either. Your cell phone is not an extension of your home. Really folks, I don’t want to know all of your dirty little secrets or the intimate details of your life but it’s really hard to tune out your 120 decibel cell phone voice even across the room.


Recently I saw an SUV whose license plate began with “DDD” and I chuckled. “Dee dee dee!” Muchas gracias, Carlos Mencia. Add that to “DOA” in my list of letter combinations I don’t want on my plates. I wouldn’t want SOB, KIA, RIP, MIA, or SOS. I could probably come up with more. Maybe when I can afford it, I should get a vanity plate. I already have one in mind — ROSCOE. If that’s not available, would the BMV object to LAGNAF?


License plate frame seen in rush hour traffic this evening:
WWJD
What would
Jerry do?
My first thought was “Write a bad check?”


Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.