Exposed?

Today’s Quote: “A man who publishes his letters becomes a nudist – nothing shields him from the world’s gaze except his bare skin. A writer, writing away, can always fix himself up to make himself more presentable, but a man who has written a letter is stuck with it for all time.” ~ E. B. White
Would that also apply to blogs and online journals?


Song: Kissing Willie
Artist: Jethro Tull
Album: Rock Island
Released: 1989


flasherI avoided it for as long as I could today but I had things I needed to get done so I reluctantly covered my nakedness and went out into the cold textile world. I cashed my expense check and dropped off the payment for my use of the city’s di-hydrogen monoxide supply. Then I checked on the kids’ critters, making sure they had sustenance, and I hauled the trash to the dump.

Since I was out, I decided to run up to Target to pick up a few odds and ends. After making my purchases, I walked outside and immediately felt a rather cold draft. I had gone commando today so I expected to feel a bit of a chill through my jeans but this was more direct, like my fly was open or something. As I made my way between cars in the parking lot, I discretely checked and, sure enough, my fly was open. At least the chill in the air had caused enough shrinkage and drawing up close to the body to avoid causing a scene. I don’t really care if anyone sees the goods but I know that in our repressed, puritanical, clothing-compulsive, prudish society, some people would take issue with it. And rather than quietly and discretely letting me know my goods were on display they’d anonymously call the cops claiming there was a pervert exposing himself in the Target parking lot. That’s so much easier and less confrontational than using common sense.

I wonder how long I’d been walking around with my fly open. I guess I’ll never know unless surveillance video shows up on the news this evening. “Yes, Officer, he’s the one. I’d recognize that penis anywhere.” And then wanted posters will appear all over with a police sketch, asking “Have you seen this penis? Last seen in the Target parking lot.” (Obscure reference to Porky’s)

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “Exposed?”

  1. I’m really sorry I forgot to deposit that check. It completely slipped my mind and by the time I remembered it, the credit union had been closed for hours. I hope it doesn’t cause too much inconvenience.

    Like

Comments are closed.