February Sucks

Today’s Quote: “There we were in the middle of a sexual revolution wearing clothes that guaranteed we wouldn’t get laid.” ~ Denis Leary


Song: Gimme Some Lovin’
Artist: The Spencer Davis Group
Album: The Best of the Spencer Davis Group
Released: 1966


The timing of my birth was just a little bit inconvenient. When The Beatles came to America, I was too young to fully appreciate them. It wasn’t until I was about 17 that I really began to listen to Rock ‘n’ Roll and it would be several more years before I truly began to appreciate the great music that came into being during my childhood. By the time I graduated from high school, the hippies were all but extinct and the sexual revolution had peaked and was on the downhill slide. I was probably in the right age bracket for disco but it never held any appeal for me. Rock ‘n’ Roll had already established a permanent residence in my soul.

But there were at least one benefit to being born when I was. When I became eligible for the draft, it was just about over. I don’t believe I even knew what my number was. Vietnamization was well underway and ground troops were being withdrawn from Southeast Asia. South Vietnam would fall within three years and I’d witness the fall of Saigon from a thousand miles away..

So much for nostalgia.


And now back to the original subject, February sucks. The weather sucks and then there’s that dreaded holiday, a month and a half after Christmas when men are brow beaten by the media to prove their love yet again through the purchase of diamond jewelry or $90 teddy bears from Vermont. The Christmas bills are still rolling in and we’re expected to spend huge amounts of money to prove our worthiness to actually be liked by a woman. When does it end? Why can’t we prove our undying love the old fashioned way? How about slaying a dragon or writing a sonnet? Or even a simple hug and a heart-felt “I love you”?

You’ll have to excuse me if I’m rambling (and I know I am) but the fingers seem to be on their own as they skim across the keyboard. There are probably a host of other reasons why February sucks but I won’t go into them here. You’ll just have to take my word for it.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “February Sucks”

  1. Man, I was rambling in yesterday’s LJ. Sorry about that, I was in a very different place or something. Or maybe I just sort of gave in to free association. Whatever.
    I looked at the post again this morning and I remembered my small role in supporting the evacuation of the American Embassy in Saigon. Looking back, it was probably the most significant thing I did in my military career. Though my role was small, I was a participant in an historical event. Back then, I believed in what I was doing. I’m not exactly sure when I stopped believing but I probably should have gotten out at that point. By then I was already more than half way to retirement so I stuck it out. That was probably the wrong reason to continue but I didn’t know anything else and the prospect of reentering civilian life without anything was pretty scary.
    To stop believing in what you do and to do it anyway really doesn’t make sense, does it? Maybe we keep doing it because we don’t know anything else and the idea of not doing it scares us because we need the income and security it provides.

    Like

Comments are closed.