Going to Hell? Been there already.

Today’s Quote: “I’ve been accused of vulgarity. I say that’s bullshit.” ~ Mel Brooks.


Song: The Letter
Artist: The Box Tops
Album: The Letter/Neon Rainbow
Released: 1967


letter
Yes, you are going to Hell, but not for the reasons you think you are.


Here’s an interesting tidbit regarding the demise of analog TV. It’s only over-the-air broadcasts that are required to go digital on 17 February 2009. Cable and satellite providers can still send analog signals until 2012. That’s good news. I can put off that new wide-screen TV for a little while longer.


I started to watch American Pie: The Naked Mile on Comedy Central last night but lost interest. I think they’ve taken those movies further than they should have. There’s only one original character left. And the plots have gotten stupider.


And what’s the attraction of blurred boobs? Breasts aren’t blurry in the real world, at least not in my experience. I’ve seen a lot of breasts and the they’ve only been blurry when I don’t have my glasses on. I just can’t understand the perceived need for censorship in this country. We all know what breasts, buttocks, and genitalia look like (or at least we should) so what’s the big deal about seeing them on TV?

That huge fine the FCC is throwing at ABC for the display of bare buttocks that occurred years ago is ridiculous. Those guys need to learn something about human anatomy. Buttocks are NOT sexual organs. Ask any doctor.

Those idiots are scary. Their decisions have the effect of Federal law without ever having to go through the legislative process. There are no checks or balances on these morons. They are only accountable to Congress who doesn’t seem to have a problem with Fascism and the demise of the Constitution. Congress apparently doesn’t feel they should be accountable to their constituents. Congress feels that they are only accountable to the corporations and special interest groups that fill their reelection coffers. I guess the networks are not contributing enough cash.

About the FCC

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is an independent United States government agency, directly responsible to Congress. The FCC was established by the Communications Act of 1934 and is charged with regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable. The FCC’s jurisdiction covers the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. possessions.

I don’t see anything in there about regulating the content of those communications or the First Amendment being non-applicable.

We’re not allowed to see bare female breasts, anyone’s genitalia, or even exposed buttocks on television, not even in a purely non-sexual or educational context. Yet it’s perfectly fine to see the most heinous acts of violence and mangled human bodies in the goriest detail. Violence is celebrated on television yet the beauty of the human body is reviled. Something is fucked up here.


I have more to say but I guess I’ve ranted enough for now. Have a nice, censored day.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.