Another year, another attempt

Today’s Quote: “I really didn’t know what to expect, but I was amazed at how I came to feel about my rather portly body! I remember coming away form the [nudist] club feeling wonderful about myself.” ~ Jim McDonald, 101 Ways to Kick Depression


Song: You Can’t Always Get What You Want
Artist: The Rolling Stones
Album: Let It Bleed
Released: 1969


It kind of crept up on me while I wasn’t paying attention (that happens a lot). Lent begins this coming Wednesday and I’m totally unprepared for it. I haven’t given any thought as to what I should give up for Lent. For one thing, what were once vices are now habits (Doobie Brothers album released in 1974). Any vices I might consider taking up so I could give them up are all well out of my price range. That really doesn’t leave much. Maybe I can give up poverty or celibacy, neither of which I’ve taken a vow to uphold. I’ve got a couple days to think about it. Maybe I can give up something sinful, even if it’s a small sin.

Do any of the 7 deadly sins apply? Let’s see. There’s (in decreasing order of severity) Pride, Envy, Anger, Sloth, Greed, Gluttony, and Lust. I think it would be quite difficult to give up Anger, at least without professional help. Back in the 17th Century, Sadness (depression?) was considered a deadly sin but that, too, would be tough to give up without professional help. I’m stumped on this one.


It’s a new year, so what the heck. I may as well get back on the Lookin’ Good Nekkid program. What have I got to lose except excess weight, man boobs, love handles, and a spare tire? (Sanity and self-respect have already abandoned ship.)


As an aside, you’ll notice that being nekkid didn’t make the Deadly Sin list. It’s never been on it.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.