Unwired

bush_phone
Today’s Quote: “As democracy is perfected, the office of president represents, more and more closely, the inner soul of the people. On some great and glorious day the plain folks of the land will reach their heart’s desire at last and the White House will be adorned by a downright moron.” ~ H. L. Mencken


Song: Right Down The Line
Artist: Gerry Rafferty
Album: City To City
Released: 1978


I installed my new wireless router yesterday evening without any help from the Geek Squad or the Linksys setup software. I plugged my laptop in, configured it pretty much the same as the old router, set the security on the wireless, and then moved the cables from the old router. It took maybe ten minutes. With my laptop connected to the wireless, I carried it around the house and even got a good signal in the depths of the man-cave. Woohoo! I’m no longer tethered by a 50′ Ethernet cable.


Only an insomniac would watch a three and a half hour Biblical epic at eleven o’clock at night. I am not, apparently, an insomniac. I began to watch The Greatest Story Ever Told (1965, George Stevens) but drifted off to sleep shortly after Jesus began gather up apostles and woke up during the ending credits. I really did want to watch it. It’s supposed to be a classic movie, with an all star cast (many of them in bit parts).

What I did watch was difficult to follow. The Magi meet with King Herod (Claude Rains), give their gifts to the baby Jesus and warn Mary and Joseph to get out of town because they suspect Herod is up to no good. Suddenly they’re in Egypt where they hear the Herod is dead, then they go back to Judea where Roman legions are marching everywhere and people on crucifixes litter the landscape (which looks a lot like Arizona).

The next thing I know John the Baptist (Charlton Heston) is preaching (extremely dramatically) and baptizes Jesus (Max von Sydow), then preaches some more. Then the first of the Apostles approach Jesus in the middle of the Arizona desert and ask if they can join him. They hang out together under a bridge that has Roman legions marching over it almost constantly and someone steals Peter’s coat. (Remember, they’re in the middle of nowhere.)

Somewhere in all that’s happened so far, Jesus does his 40 days in the wilderness (takes about 10 minutes). Most of the time he’s sitting at the entrance of a cave being tempted by Satan, aka the Dark Hermit, (played by Donald Pleasence).

I fell asleep soon after the incident with Peter’s coat.

I’d probably give a better review if I’d stayed awake. Maybe if they’d shown it earlier. For my preliminary review, I’d have to say that it was not the greatest telling of the greatest story ever told. I had trouble following it despite having a reasonable knowledge of the events. Its all star cast included Angela Landsbury, David McCallum, Roddy McDowall, Sidney Poitier, Telly Savalas, Shelley Winters, Robert Black, Jamie Farr, and Russell Johnson. And I missed seeing John Wayne as a Roman centurion at the crucifixion. “Here’s a spear in your side, pilgrim.” (You’ll have the imagine the Duke’s drawl.)

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

2 thoughts on “Unwired”

    1. Re: Merry Christmas! :o)
      Hope you had a Merry Christmas as well.
      All is well with us back in Ohio. Spent most of the day celebrating the holiday with Adam & Mandy and the kids.

      Like

Comments are closed.