Which Luxury SUV Should I Get Her?


Song: Walkin’ ‘Round in Women’s Underwear
Artist: Bob Rivers
Album: I Am Santa Claus
Year: 1993


Today’s Quote: “And so it came to pass that a choir of elves appeared in the night sky singing, ‘We bring you good tidings of great joy which shall be to all people, for on this night, Santa Claus is coming to town.'” ~ Greg B. Macabenta, The Grinch Who Took Christ Out of Christmas, Filipinas, December 2007 edition


I recently read an interesting review of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, the one they’ve been showing every Christmas season since about 1964 or something like that. Maybe review isn’t quite the right word. It’s more like a personality profile of the major characters. Still, amazing stuff for the sixties.


If I’m to believe the advertising I see on television, then I shouldn’t have a problem finding the perfect gift for my wife. Indeed, my biggest concern should be choosing between a Lexus or a Lincoln SUV. It probably really doesn’t matter as long as I include a diamond pendant from one of the multitude of chain jewelry stores that are owned by the same company. It’s so clear to me now after all those years of fretting over what to get. It should have been so obvious all along especially since I, as an American, have tens of thousands of dollars at my disposal (or at least easy credit terms).


Never question the dog, Ma
Although I’m not a profoundly religious person and it’s doubtful any church would have me, or want me once I began questioning the dogma. Yes, I know I’m not supposed to question the Dog, Ma, because the dog never has a good answer. But I digress. I actually like the spiritual aspects of Christmas — traditional Christmas carols, nativity scenes, etc. The spiritual message is certainly more positive and uplifting than the secular message of buy-buy-buy, go deeper into debt, and your worth as a person is directly proportional to the cost of the gifts you give and receive. I really don’t see any reason to celebrate crass consumerism.


Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.