A Pocketful of Clues


Song: Any Major Dude Will Tell You
Artist: Steely Dan
Album: Pretzel Logic
Year: 1974


Today’s Quote: “Puritanism: The haunting fear that someone, somewhere, may be happy.” ~ H. L. Mencken


Subject line seen in my spam report the other day: “Were you born not well hung?”
No, I was not born a freak. That came much later.


The wife and I spent some quality time together today, meaning we went shopping. It wasn’t really all that bad. We put a DVD/VCR combo on layaway to replace our current tape eating monster. I think our VCR has long exceeded its expected life expectancy. This new entertainment appliance will also replace the two DVD players residing underneath our television. The odds of either of them working correctly is about fifty-fifty. I can’t find the remote for one and sometimes the other just decides we need to see the four corners of the picture in different areas of the screen. With digital TV supposedly becoming the government mandated standard in 2009, I’m starting to toy with the idea of perhaps purchasing a wide-screen TV. Nothing serious yet but looking into it.

But the most important thing was that I came away with clues. Usually at this time of year, I’m in a clueless panic with her birthday and Christmas looming. But this year, I’ve got some ideas and the best part is that the gifts I’m considering are practical, inexpensive, and things she wants. It’s as close to a win-win situation as I’m likely to find. I even found some ideas for other gifts. I promise not to get Ben another Battleship game this year.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

3 thoughts on “A Pocketful of Clues”

    1. I found a couple of things you might like but I’ll keep the Wii thing in mind.
      Most importantly, I actually have clues about what to get your mother.

      Like

Comments are closed.