As Good As It Gets


Song: Drift Away
Artist: Dobie Gray
Album: Drift Away
Year: 1973


Today’s Quote: “When Fascism comes to America it will be wrapped in the flag and carrying a cross.” ~ Sinclair Lewis
(I do believe it arrived 20 January 2001 in Washington, D.C. on the wings of hanging chads from Florida.)


Today felt better than yesterday. I seem to have gotten a good night’s sleep and I woke up early, feeling refreshed but hungry. My blood pressure was very good, down considerably from yesterday. I had breakfast and actually got out of the driveway on time. During the morning commute, there were a few minor annoyances but nothing that set me off. Work wasn’t all that stressful or frustrating and I had a pleasant drive up to Troy. The drive home was nice too.

I know you’re probably thinking that I experienced a rather typical, average day. For the average person, it probably would be. However, for me it was an unusually pleasant day. Were I a manic-depressive (aka bipolar), I would have considered today to be a “manic” day. Normal is about as good as it gets.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.