Frank N. Webb, Jr.


Song: Green Grass and High Tides
Artist: The Outlaws
Album: Outlaws
Year: 1975


Today’s Quote: “Prohibition… goes beyond the bounds of reason in that it attempts to control a man’s appetite by legislation and makes a crime out of things that are not crimes… A prohibition law strikes a blow at the very principles upon which our government was founded.” ~ Abraham Lincoln


A big Thank You goes to Adam for his help in getting Frankenweb2 online. I would have loved to have been there and absorbed some of the Penguin Force but I had a previous work-related obligation. We were able to boot to the old drive in the new server so he was able to backup his MySQL databases and use those backups to recreate his content. My web content was a bit less complicated. I just copied my files to the new drive.


When I renewed my domain name, I discovered that my web host had increased my server space from 50 MB to 4 GB. My main reason for creating FrankenWeb in the first place was because my web site had outgrown the 50 MB allocation with my genealogical content. Now all that content will fit on the hosted site with over 3.5 GB to spare. What do I do? On whichever host I place my content, the other becomes a ghost town. Maybe I can split it by putting my personal content on the hosted site and the genealogy on my server. To tell the truth, FTP’ing thousands of small files across the Internet every time I do an update is a daunting and time consuming task. It already takes awhile to FTP them across my LAN. I’d also like to create a new personal blog on my server along the lines of Penguin Xing, which I’m already hosting. I don’t know if I’d migrate anything from Blogger except perhaps my genealogy blog. I guess I need to do some research and figure out what I want to do.


The tasks that were supposed to take a mere four hours to complete turned into a ten hour day. Personally, I think the project should have been split into several smaller tasks. If you ask me, bringing down all of your servers at once along with the main switch is a risky proposition. As it was, it wasn’t pretty. When I finally left at 8:00, I think everything was up and running again. I will mention that I was there for 10 hours in my weekly report. I want it documented even though I don’t really expect any compensatory time off for it. If I’m lucky, I’ll get a certificate worth 10 points which I can redeem for a model robot. Yeah, they’re nice and they show company spirit, but at this point in my life, I’d rather have cash.


It’s late and my mind is beginning to wander…

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “Frank N. Webb, Jr.”

  1. I think we got that screensaver problem taken care of. What a pain in the ass that was. I wish I’d gotten the VNC server service running on my computer and VNC on the PC by the servers a lot sooner. That would have saved me much walking from one end of the house to the other. Thank goodness for Putty and SSH.
    Eventually, I’ll get the apps and tools on that I want installed and I’ll learn the ways of the Penguin.

    Like

Comments are closed.