Methinks the patient is terminal


Song: Evil Woman
Artist: Electric Light Orchestra
Album: Face The Music
Year: 1975


Today’s Quote: “If you want to get laid, go to college. If you want to learn something, go to a library.” ~ Frank Zappa


FrankenWeb’s lockups had been occurring with greater frequency. First there was a lockup, then a couple weeks later there was another. The next was a week later, then a few days. Soon it was every other day. Yesterday, it looked up in the morning and late in the evening I noticed it was locked up again. I shut it down and went to bed. This morning I made three attempts to revive Frank N. Webb. I think a Kernel panic error is serious. This evening I opened up the patient and cleaned him out. I reseated the NIC, the video card, and the memory. I powered it up and “Kernel panic” set in immediately. It’s not looking good. I’m sure it’s hardware, probably the motherboard. There really isn’t much else it could be. This server is about as bare bones as it gets..

Frank N. Webb, Jr. is standing by in the wings, nearly ready to assume the duties. The configuration probably needs a bit of tweaking and content needs to be put in place. My pages aren’t a problem as they’re just straight HTML I don’t have any scripting, plug-ins, databases, or any of that fancy stuff. It’s the Penguin-Xing stuff that will probably be a pain in the arse. I don’t know what all is involved in that. It’s well beyond my current level of comprehension. I’d like to learn that stuff and be able to at least work with that sort of magic. Just let me know when.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

2 thoughts on “Methinks the patient is terminal”

  1. How about tomorrow?
    Mandy’s going shopping with Janette and Kelley on Saturday and I have all of the kids all day. I can come over with them and work on moving my web sites over and making sure apache is configured for them. Also I need to make a couple of compilation VHS tapes for our trip to Florida in a couple of weeks. I know that sounds weird but I need to record some DVDs to VHS on EP so maybe I can get more movies in the van without switching them out so often and having too many tapes on the floor. Just don’t tell the MPAA.

    Like

    1. Re: How about tomorrow?
      Tonight I’ll mount the drive in the new server as a slave. You should be able to mount it and get anything you need off of it. I’m not sure what’s involved in telling Linux there’s another drive. Maybe I’ll figure it out tonight.
      If you can get me set up to use WordPress, that would be great.
      See ya tomorrow.
      MPAA? Moronic Putzes Angering Audiences

      Like

Comments are closed.