Play Naked — that’s our policy


Today’s Song: Doctor My Eyes
Artist: Jackson Browne
Album: Jackson Browne
Year: 1972


Today’s Quote: “The opposition seems to stem from the fact that Oaklake Trails Naturist Park has a policy which allows patrons to participate in activities without clothing.” ~ Zoning Requests Approved For Oaklake Trails Naturist Park, USANudist blog, 2 October 2007
Uh, hello? It’s a naturist park. That’s what naturists do at a naturist park. In fact, it’s probably the best thing about a naturist park; I like and encourage that policy.


Try Care
Maybe if I used it more often, I might find Tricare (DoD healthcare system) less frustrating, then again maybe not. On average, I make two appointments a year — my annual physical exam and usually a follow up appointment six months later. So I’m pretty much out of the loop if there are any changes. Or maybe I should be a hypochondriac.

Their preferred method of making an appointment is to go to their web site, log in, and schedule it. Should be simple, right? Maybe if you make appointments with them all the time but for those of us who stay healthy and only visit for our annual blood work and prostate exam, it’s a pain in the ass.

First of all, to log in you have to have a password that’s almost impossible for any normal person to remember and secure enough for the nuclear launch codes. Oh, and you have to change it at least every 90 days or it expires and you have to go through the “forgot password” nightmare and make up a new impossible to remember password. It sucks. I just went through this (with assistance from technical support) and I’ll have to remember to go through it twice more before I schedule my annual physical.

Once I’m logged in, I have to select a reason for my intended visit from a drop down list and this list determines what open appointments might be available. A routine physical exam is not among the choices although flight, sports, and school physicals are listed. No matter what I choose, there’s usually either no appointments available or those that are available are incredibly inconvenient. Most of the time, there’s either nothing or nothing that meets my needs (they can’t seem to schedule more than two weeks in advance) so I end up calling the appointment desk and enduring their voice menu hell. (what is sixteen hundred again?).

Yesterday I spent my entire lunch hour trying to make a follow up appointment both online and over the phone. At the end of that hour I still did not have an appointment but I did learn that my doctor is no longer there, meaning that once I do get an appointment I’ll have to regurgitate my entire medical history along with my medical genealogy to a new doctor. The new MD will probably have a whole new, modern approach to medicine and poo-poo my old doctor’s common sense, old country doctor, approach. And the new doctor may have bigger fingers. Oh, I hope not.

After the trauma of attempting to get a doctor’s appointment, I’m seriously considering blowing off the follow up and waiting for my annual butt-fingering appointment in April. Maybe if I remember to change my nuclear launch code passwords in a timely manner (twice), it won’t be so bad. Why can’t we have health care that takes care of healthy people?

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.