Naked Lunch


Today’s Song: A Day In The Life
Artist: The Beatles
Album: Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band
Year: 1967

Today’s Quote: “I just don’t understand how an activity that’s fun, completely harmless, and promotes health, morality, modesty, and family values can possibly be illegal.” ~ Kahuna Papa

I lost a friggin’ nose pad on my glasses again today. I had another one from an old pair of glasses but my attempts to replace it proved futile. I just didn’t have enough hands or good enough eyes to do it myself this time. Of course, if I had good enough eyes for this kind of operation, I probably wouldn’t be wearing glasses. Realizing how futile it was, I had my naked lunch, washed the dishes, then reluctantly put clothes on and went to Wal-Mart to get my glasses fixed. It’s strange that I can have them do it for $2.01 but it would cost me $1.99 plus tax to buy the pads to do it myself. I like the way that works out.

As long as I was dressed and out of the house I went up to Troy to swap the tape because I knew no one else was going to do it and to look at a computer that died the other day and I’ve been taking some heat because I wasn’t able to get up there Thursday or Friday to look at it. I thought maybe the power supply had burned out but it turned out to be the cooling fan for the CPU. I replaced it with a fan from another computer and got it running again. It doesn’t quite fit but it’ll work until I get the right one. I sent emails all around, hoping that come Monday, someone will be happy. (I’m sure it won’t be me.)

It felt good to get back home and NIFOC again. You don’t have to imagine it if you don’t want to. I’m not one to force it on anyone.

Naked Lunch by William Seward Burroughs

 

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

One thought on “Naked Lunch”

Comments are closed.