Naked Computer Guy Saves The Day


Today’s Song: Red Red Wine
Artist: UB40
Album: Labour Of Love
Year: 1983
Notes: Written and first recorded by Neil Diamond, first appearing on his 1967 album Just For You. UB40 only knew the song as a Reggae song and thought “N. Diamond” was a Jamaican artist.


Today’s Quote: “Not only is sleeping naked more comfortable, but it’s good for your health too. Increasing your level of comfort makes it easier for you to relax and sleep, so you get a better night’s kip. The resulting deeper, longer sleep makes it easier for your body to regenerate and repair itself, and build up your energy for the day ahead.” — sleepnaked.org


She made me get out of bed for an emergency this morning — our Internet connection wasn’t working (second time in a week). I confirmed there was a problem and that it wasn’t with my network. I connected a laptop directly to the DSL modem to see what was happening on the other side of my router. I had an IP address but I wasn’t able to browse or ping anywhere. Using the modem’s Web-based interface I checked the connection and the diagnostics told me that it wasn’t able to ping the DNS servers. Interesting.

I called AT&T tech support and talked to some guy in a distant call center that I could barely hear or understand and he finally forwarded me to some real tech support. I was on the line with Brian for about an hour, trying different things and running tests but we didn’t really make much progress towards resolving my problem. No one there seemed to be aware of any network problems yet I wasn’t able to get a tracert to go beyond their gateway router. What does that sound like to you? He said he’d open a trouble ticket and get back to me. Then, about 5 minutes later, he called back and informed me that there was, indeed, a network problem (you think?) because they got flooded with calls similar to mine. (The naked computer guy has his stuff together.) I was back online by 10.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

2 thoughts on “Naked Computer Guy Saves The Day”

    1. I’m guess it was probably the other side of their gateway router. I wasn’t able to ping their DNS servers but I don’t use their DNS anyway.
      Did Mandy tell you that I had a desktop computer for the kids?

      Like

Comments are closed.