But seriously folks


Today’s Song: Life’s Been Good
Artist: Joe Walsh
Album: But Seriously Folks
Year: 1978


Today’s Quote: “When you think about it, it’s not the diabetes that kills you, it’s the diabetes causing cardiovascular disease that kills you.” — Dr. David Nathan, director of the Diabetes Center at Massachusetts General Hospital.


In this morning’s New York Times email there was a good article about diabetes. I found it quite surprising that many people with diabetes and their doctors believe that diabetes can be “cured” by controlling blood sugar or losing weight. Huh? Diabetes is presently incurable. Once you have it, at best it can be controlled. If it gets out of control, then it’s not the disease itself that kills you but something else that was brought on by the disease. The article emphasized that you need to lower your cholesterol and blood pressure too.

My doctor is well aware that I have a hereditary inclination to develop diabetes and he has been actively encouraging me to watch my diet and get plenty of exercise to get my numbers in line. I guess he’s taking a more holistic approach. Let’s face it, you can’t treat these things in isolation. Overall good health with a healthy lifestyle can go a long way in controlling the risk factors and minimizing the effects.

The article gave the impression that some people believe controlling diabetes is too much effort. WTF? Too much effort? Not when you consider that the alternatives are years of suffering, blindness, kidney failure, dialysis every other day for the rest of your life, amputation, strokes, heart attacks, and death. And then there’s the expense and grief that goes with it all.

Given my family history, I’m fairly confident that I will eventually be diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes but I’d much rather go through all the rigors of diet, exercise, testing, monitoring, and anything else I have to do, than face those alternatives. I don’t want my family to endure my going through that Hell.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

2 thoughts on “But seriously folks”

  1. WTF? Too much effort?

    Didn’t you hear? Living is totally overrated.
    Anyway, I’m glad to see that you’re taking the precaution with this. Hearing about Grandma’s ongoing battle with it certainly gives you something to think about. I’m still young (until next week maybe) and I’m starting to see the doctor now for my health issues now. I’m starting with the allergies for the moment, but I may be due for another physical next year.

    Like

  2. Didn’t you hear? Living is totally overrated.
    But it still beats the alternatives.
    Don’t forget that the risk for some health problems such as heart disease and diabetes, are hereditary, which is why I’m doing what I can to take care of my health. A lot of my mother’s current health problems could have been prevented or at least minimized. At least I can learn from her experience.
    Yeah, you should get an annual physical. Preventive medicine is cheaper in the long run than trying to deal with the problems after they become serious.

    Like

Comments are closed.