Too Hot To Wear Anything


Today’s Song: The Banana Boat Song (Day-O)
Artist: Harry Belafonte
Album: Calypso
Year: 1956


Today’s Quote: “The ability to speak does not make you intelligent.” — Qui-Gon Jinn, Star Wars I: The Phantom Menace


As I recall, Qui-Gon spoke those words to Jar-Jar Binks, who later became a Senator representing Naboo in the Imperial Senate. This tells me that the statement could, therefore, be directed at politicians in general and several in particular.


I’ve heard rumors that the heat wave is over although temperatures are still supposed to be in the upper 80s and lower 90s over the next few days. No, the heat wave is over when the temperature drops to the upper 70s or lower 80s for a while. As it is, it’s still too hot to wear clothes.


I learned Wednesday that Tuesday was National Underwear Day. It was apparently a day to celebrate skivvies. According to FreshPair.com, “Underwear should no longer be merely the first thing you put on and the last thing you take off, but the most important thing you wear all day.”

Well, I don’t see it that way. Underwear is not the first thing I put on in the morning nor is it the last thing I take off at night. And I definitely would not consider it the most important thing I wear all day.

It just so happens that my glasses are the first thing I put on, the last thing I take off, and are, by far, the most important things I wear all day because I can’t see much of anything without them. So there! (And you probably thought I was going to say that I didn’t wear underwear.)

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.