By the seat of my pants


Today’s Quote: “I am not implying that these experts are misleading or malicious. Not at all. The issue lies in our inability to find the correct correlations between cause and effect.” — Stephen Shapiro, Never Trust An Expert


I think I’ve taken a big step on the road to Nirvana (the plane of existence not the band ). Yesterday I think I achieved numbness with the universe. It’s kind of like oneness with the universe but different. I’m sure it’s close enough. There’s no enthusiasm but no apathy either. It’s just a state of being, of existence. I may not be exactly where I want to be but wherever I am, that’s okay. I want to do some things but if they don’t get done, I’m okay with it.

Back when I was in the “circus,” they didn’t like us saying “close enough for government work” so I just said, “with enough precision to meet federal specifications.” Most of what I did didn’t require much precision anyway. Actually, most of it was guess work. I was flying by the seat of my pants most of the time. Come to think of it, I’m still doing that. Quite often I get the feeling that the seat of my pants is wearing thin. Maybe that explains some of my wardrobe malfunctions.


Well, I guess it’s time to put on some pants and see if I can accomplish anything today. I have my doubts. (Logically, you can’t fly by the seat of your pants if you’re not wearing pants.)


BuffaloSpringfieldBuffaloSpringfieldAgainSong: Broken Arrow
Artist: Buffalo Springfield
Album: Buffalo Springfield Again
Year: 1968
The song was produced by Jim Messina who later replaced bassist Dewey Palmer when Palmer was deported to Canada. Much later, he teamed up with Kenny Loggins.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.