Summer Plans (Yeah, right)


Today’s Quote: ” I am against using death as a punishment. I am also against using it as a reward.” — Stanislaw J. Lec


I don’t know if it’s global warming but this year my June allergies are kicking me in the balls repeatedly and they began a bit earlier than usual. Even Loratadine, my drug of choice, hasn’t been very effective. I hope that since it began earlier, it will end earlier. It would be great if I could be over this before the 23rd. I have plans for that Saturday unless, of course, someone preempts them or I talk myself out of it. Both could easily happen. I need a day (or several) for myself, to just get away for a bit and do something fun and maybe a little different. I can’t recall the last time I had that luxury.


I hope my yard now meets the stringent requirements of the Huber Heights penal code. I’ve seen the error of my deviant ways. I’ve mowed my lawn, I trimmed the high grass and weeds where the mower can’t reach. I knocked down the jungle along the fence and I hauled away the brush pile. Would the Gestapo please get off my back?

I’m taking some vacation time later this month and I “plan” (subject to the usual caveats) to remove that old shed and its contents. If I feel ambitious enough, I may even clean out the other shed as I’m sure there is crap in there that requires disposal.


WIDE, WIDE RIVER
The Fugs

River of shit
River of shit
Flow on, flow on, river of shit
Right from my toes
On up to my nose
Flow on, flow on, river of shit
I’ve been swimming
In this river of shit
More than 20 years
And I’m getting tired of it
Don’t like swimming
Hope it’ll run dry
Got to go on swimming
Cause I don’t want to die
Spoken:
Oh I can feel another 1000 years
Of the flapjacks of Sorrow! Unless!
Unless we make 2000 A.D.! 2000 A.D.
Our glorious deadline
A glorious deadline to make the
World a better place!
Or else the flapjacks of sorrow
Are going to slide down our throats
Slide down our throats
For another millenium
Of pain and war and oppression
And all our children’s children’s children’s
Children’s children children
Shall have to wade and to swim
In the same grim river
In which we now swim
Sing along with us
Sing sing sing sing sing sing sing sing!
(Repeat first verse)



Song: Wide Wide River
Artist: The Fugs
Album: It Crawled Into My Hand, Honest
Year: 1968

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.