Doing it for vanity


Today’s Quote: “Everyone has a purpose in life. Perhaps yours is watching television.” — David Letterman


I cleaned out my sanctuary today, moving the vast majority of the crap out to a neat pile in the living room where it will not be allowed to stay any longer than necessary. Much of it is crap I should have tossed out long ago. There’s more stashed away in the closet but that’s for another weekend.

I had essentially two reasons for finally getting rid of it. First of all, I was sick of looking at it and it was crap that really served no purpose in my life anymore. Secondly, I needed to reclaim the floor space so I’d have room to nudercise, an essential part of Looking Good Nekkid, Phase II that I’ve been neglecting for too long. The aerobic workout I get in the fitness room at work (when I manage to get my ass in there) is all well and good but I need to supplement it with an anaerobic workout. Now that I’ve cleared out the room and set up my little home gym, I have no excuses.

I don’t know if anyone is aware of this but I’m trying to lose weight, get in shape, and improve my health for all the wrong reasons. Avoiding the ravages of heredity and being healthier just haven’t been enough to motivate me to get off my ass and do it. Instead, I figured I’d try a different approach and do it for vanity, which is why I call it the “Looking Good Nekkid” program. So far it seems to be working better than anything else to motivate me. All the other reasons I’ve previously tried to use as motivation will become side benefits.


Star Wars: The Legacy Revealed on the History Channel was pretty good. I wonder if George Lucas was actually aware, at the time he did each episode, of all the different mythological, philosophical, sociological, religious, moral, and historical themes present in the saga. I kind of doubt it. But still, it seems the story is more complex than it would appear to the casual observer. Chances are, George was just trying to tell one hell of a story.

At the end of Episode Six when they show the ghosts of Obi Wan, Yoda, and Anakin, is it the Episode Three Anakin they show? They flashed the scene momentarily during the legacy show and it looked like the Episode Three Anakin. That’s kind of weird, since Episode Three hadn’t been cast. It probably only existed in the mind of George Lucas.


Black_Sabbath_-_ParanoidSong: Iron Man
Artist: Black Sabbath
Album: Paranoid
Year: 1972

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

3 thoughts on “Doing it for vanity”

  1. It depends on which version of Episode VI you watch. In the original and Special Edition, it’s the actor who played the old Anakin when Luke took off his helmet on the Death Star (Sebastian Shaw).
    If you’re watching any version that released after Episode III released, it’s Hayden Christiansen.

    Like

  2. It was changed to Episode Three Anakin when it was released on DVD. I think George Lucas said it made sense to have Anakin go back to what he was before he was corrupted by the Dark Side. But you know all the true Star Wars geeks living in their parents’ basements with diagrams of how a battle between a Star Destroyer and the Enterprise would turn out threw a fit. Guess what guys? It’s his movie!

    Like

  3. Now that you both mention it, I remember it was the older Anakin when I first saw Episode VI. I probably wasn’t paying attention when I watched the DVD. The Legacy program on the History Channel just flashed the scene for a moment, they must have used the DVD version. I just wanted to make sure I wasn’t losing my mind.
    You’re right, it’s his movie and he can do whatever he wants with it. He can make a Looney Toons version if he wants. (That might be interesting.)
    There’s no way I’d live in my parents’ basement!

    Like

Comments are closed.