Help Desk


Today’s Quote: “There’s always somebody who is paid too much, and taxed too little – and it’s always somebody else.” — Cullen Hightower


How To Prepare Chicken…

A waiter asks a man, “May I take your order, sir?”
“Yes,” the man replies. “I’m just wondering, exactly how do you prepare your chickens?”
“Nothing special, sir. We just tell them straight out that they’re going to die.”


So far this week has been very calm at work, too calm, as in the calm before the storm. Now that I’ve brought it up, I’m sure I’ve jinxed it and tomorrow the fit will hit the shan. Once it hits, I expect a steady stream for a long time to come.

A year or so ago we had three people to take care of the help desk for 500 people and, overall, life was good. Then the powers that be moved one of us over to the development side. In their infinite wisdom, they decided that rather than fill the now vacant position, they would elevate it to a Network Administrator. And so it was written, so it was done.

They searched long and hard for a network admin who would work for the wages they offered but none could be found. Enter the new fiscal year and an expected downturn in business, so they decided to abandon their search for a network admin and try to find us a co-op instead. Several have been interviewed but so far, none have signed up.

Last week it was announced that half of the help desk team was departing at the end of the month and taking a week’s vacation before doing so. And now I am a help desk of one.

Given the department’s track record in finding qualified candidates, I’m not hopeful that the help desk “team” will experiencing any expansion in the near future. I am doomed. I was already having a difficult time juggling help desk tickets, projects, and miscellaneous tasks, all priority one.

Oh, yeah, I’m also supposed to keep on top of technology and trends, be familiar with all the software and devices strewn throughout the company, and be innovative and cutting edge while supporting users in two physical locations as well as dozens of remote users. I’ve barely got time to do a Google search when I run into a new problem. Just when am I supposed learn new technology? While I’m cruising down I-75 between locations, not being reimbursed for gas or wear and tear?

Thank you for allowing me to rant. I am that chicken.

Oh, it should be known that I really can’t multi-task. I can do task-switching (like the old Caldera DOS) to a degree but no multi-tasking.


LynyrdskynyrdSong: Tuesday’s Gone
Artist: Lynyrd Skynyrd
Album: Pronounced Leh-nerd Skin-nerd
Year: 1973
This is one of my very favorite Lynyrd Skynyrd songs.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.