Implied Ogre Nudity


Today’s Quote: “If you would be a real seeker after truth, it is necessary that at least once in your life you doubt, as far as possible, all things.” — Rene Descartes


The Catholic News Service reviews Shrek the Third and warns, “The film contains implied ogre nudity.” Oh. My. God. It’s bad enough our children risk being traumatized and scarred by the chance exposure of homo-sapien nudity but now there’s the threat posed by mere implication of nude ogres. When will it end? Something must be done about this!

Wait a minute. In the Shrek movies, isn’t Donkey naked? And Puss in Boots, he’s just wearing a hat, a belt, and a pair of boots. That’s kind of kinky, if you ask me. I seem to remember that the Gingerbread Man has buttons, but no clothes. So what’s the big deal about a nude ogre? I’m sure there are ogre nudist resorts and clothing optional beaches in Far Far Away, at least I would  hope so. Naked ogres can’t be any more hideous than some people you see at the beach or the pool (many of whom physically resemble ogres).

Regardless, I enjoyed the first two Shrek movies and I’m looking forward to seeing the third, even if the ogres are only nude by implication.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.