Happy Mothers Day


Today’s Quote: “Art produces ugly things which frequently become more beautiful with time. Fashion, on the other hand, produces beautiful things which always become ugly with time.” — Jean Cocteau (As a personal note, the time in which things produced by “fashion” become ugly is very short, often before they are modeled.)


Worst. President. Ever.

From his catastrophic war of choice to fiddling while New Orleans drowned, from installing partisan and unqualified lackeys in every possible government position to allowing the poisoning of our food, the Bush administration has failed. Top to bottom.

This country has had several mediocre presidents but Dubya seems to have moved well beyond mere mediocrity.


Home Improvement
Hopefully, my dryer will work more efficiently now. I put in a new vent hose. The old one was pretty well packed and the dead bird probably didn’t help much. While I was at it, I put in an elbow at the dryer outlet. It takes some of the strain off the hose. Later I did a load of laundry and when I started the dryer, it made a strange noise I’d never heard before. It got louder if I pulled out the lint trap so I figured it was a wind noise of some kind. I pulled the dryer out while it was still running and pulled off the elbow from the back. Some crap blew out and I put the elbow back on; the noise stopped. Weird, huh?


Review: City Barbecue, Beavercreek
To put it bluntly, I was very disappointed. Where I work, they’ve had City Barbecue cater some employee meetings and I found the food to be quite good, so my expectations were high. When we walked in, we stood in line as we read the menu hanging from the ceiling. We were still reading the menu when it was our turn to place our order. Then we stood in line to receive our order. This was followed by carrying our trays into the dining area were we found a “picnic” table where we could sit down to eat. Eating really wasn’t really a memorable experience. I’ve had much better barbecue at places that aren’t even known for their barbecue. It’s a good thing we were able to pay for it all on the gift card we had so we didn’t suffer a financial loss. In summary, my expectations clearly were not met. Maybe my expectations simply weren’t low enough. With as much business as this place was doing, I guess many people have much lower expectations than I do.


Song: Redneck Mother
Artist: Jerry Jeff Walker
Album: A Man Must Carry On
Year: 1977

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “Happy Mothers Day”

  1. I hereby retract any statements I may have made about George Walker Bush being the worst President ever. In his first 100 days in office, Donald J. Trump has already far surpassed Dubya’s incompetence and ignorance.

    I’m hoping his middle initial J is not any kind of tribute to the great Jay Ward.

    Like

Comments are closed.