Twelve Dollars Until Payday


Today’s Quote: “How nice–to feel nothing, and still get full credit for being alive.” — Kurt Vonnegut, Slaughterhouse Five


I managed to accomplish one item on my weekend to-do list. I replaced the bathroom outlet and it still didn’t work. Checking the wires with a volt meter showed there was absolutely no electricity flowing to the outlet. And then I got on the Web and learned a thing or two about GFI outlets. I reset the GFI outlet that was working and, miraculously, the other outlet worked. It probably didn’t need to be replaced after all. Well, shit my britches!


I think my home PC is possessed by demons. Last night I went to shut it down and it had rebooted. I went ahead and shut it down. I got up early in the morning and it was on again, waiting for me to give it the three-fingered salute and log in. I shut it down again. When I awoke a few hours later, it was on again, waiting for me. What gives? What sort of demon does this?


JonathanedwardsSong: Sunshine
Artist: Jonathan Edwards
Album: Jonathan Edwards
Year: 1971

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

2 thoughts on “Twelve Dollars Until Payday”

    1. I don’t think so. They were asleep when it mysteriously turned itself on and they hadn’t been near it when it rebooted. Not that I’d ever blame them. The computer is still quirky even with the new drive and fresh load of Windows. The picture display on Penguin X-ing still doesn’t work in Firefox on that computer. It’s fine in any other browser it works in Firefox on all the other computers. I’ve noticed the same thing with other sites that use that technique.

      Like

Comments are closed.