Why can’t I own Canadians?


Today’s Unknown Quote: “Lev. 25:44 states that I may indeed possess slaves, both male and female, provided they are purchased from neighboring nations. A friend of mine claims that this applies to Mexicans, but not Canadians. Can you clarify? Why can’t I own Canadians?” — unknown, open letter to Dr. Laura Schlessinger


I’d be interested to see her response, not that I have any desire to own Mexicans or Canadians. I’m sure the going rates for either are out of my price rage. We’re rather limited on neighboring nations. But if you consider the United States to be a union of more or less sovereign states, then perhaps I could purchase slaves from Michigan, Indiana, Kentucky, West Virginia, or Pennsylvania. I think it’s a matter of interpretation here.

I’m sure Dr. Laura’s response would have been something along the lines of that passage doesn’t apply now, it only applied in Biblical times. How wonderfully convenient that we can choose particular passages of God’s word to be absolute divine law and bend them to suit our particular point of view while ignoring other passages, saying they no longer apply. Are we saying that God might have been wrong occasionally? Or maybe the Lord was a little confused. Maybe we are confused.

Religion is more about acquiring power over people than saving their souls. I’m not saying it’s necessarily a bad thing but you should be aware of that going into your place of worship. It’s your soul and it’s ultimately your responsibility, so you should know up front who you’re handing it to.


Song: Dazed and Confused
Artist: Led Zeppelin
Album: Led Zeppelin
Year: 1969

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.