Dreaming of a White Easter


Today’s Quote: “The wise man in the storm prays to God, not for safety from danger, but for the deliverance from fear. It is the storm within that endangers him, not the storm without.” — Ralph Waldo Emerson


No, I haven’t disappeared from the face of the Earth. I’ve just been busy, bored, depressed, or away. Or I may have not have had anything to say. Some people post because they have something to say, others because they have to say something. I think I fall in the somewhere in the middle, slightly to the left of center.


So, what’s happened n the last week? At work I was busier than a one-legged man in an ass-kicking contest but I can’t say that I actually accomplished much. I successfully maneuvered through the minefield that is TriCare Online and made an appointment for my annual physical exam, only to go back and cancel the Friday appointment and reschedule it for Monday. Friday afternoon, I got a call from the clinic and rescheduled it for next Friday. What a great birthday present — a finger up my ass! (At least it’ll be lubricated for a change.) I’ve got a lot going on that day. I hope the doctor won’t be too surprised if my blood pressure is up a bit.


Thursday night I journeyed north through the snow. Why does it always snow when I head up there in April? My mom had her dialysis site moved because the old site was pretty messed up by all the infections she’s had there. She was supposed to come home the same day but her surgeon was concerned about bleeding from the old site so they kept her there overnight. When I saw her on Saturday morning, she looked pretty good, all things considered. The old site was no longer bleeding/oozing and she was alert. I spoke with my dad this morning; they finally left the hospital around 8:30 last night. It’s as difficult to get released from a hospital as it is to get released from jail. I drove through several snow squalls on the return trip as well.


Our family Easter gathering was a very pleasant affair. The dinner was delicious although there are some Easter traditions that puzzle me. I understand about chocolate bunnies and colored eggs; they have their origins in the pagan fertility rites that were appropriated  by the Church in their efforts to Christianize the pagans. What I don’t quite understand is why we eat ham on the day we commemorate the resurrection of Jesus Christ, who was a Jew. Like so many other holiday traditions, I’m sure it’s origins are pagan rather than Christian. Or it couldn’t have completely secular. Maybe some clever butcher was trying to sell a lot of ham around Easter. There are many ideas we attribute to our religious beliefs whose origins are purely economic.


A blond heard that milk baths would make her more beautiful, so she left a note for her milkman to leave 15 gallons of milk.
When the milkman read the note, he felt there must be a mistake. He thought she probably meant 1.5 gallons, so he knocked on the door to clarify the point.
The blonde came to the door and the milkman said, “I found your Note to leave 15 gallons of milk. Did you mean 1.5 gallons?”
The blonde said, “I want 15 gallons of milk. I’m going to fill my bathtub up with milk and take a milk bath”.
The milkman asked, “Do you want it pasteurized?”
The blonde said, “No, just up to my boobs.”

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.