Don’t Bogart That Joint, My Friend


Today’s Quote: “It’s real hard to be free when you’re bought and sold in the marketplace.” — George Hanson (Jack Nicholson), Easy Rider (1969)


I’ve got a lot on my mind today. Everything is just jumbled around in my head, defying my attempts to sort them out. A fat doobie could certainly be helpful. (I’m not advocating illegal drug use; I’m just pointing out that certain natural substances can be useful now and then.)


joint2-1.jpg

A Sad State of Affairs


I found this comment on the film Easy Rider interesting.

My favorite movie of all time…, 22 January 1999
10/10
Author: Quag7 from Tucson, AZ

Too often this film is relegated to retro documentaries and cheap nostalgia for an era too often reduced to its superficial artifacts (flower power, popular music).

I was born in 1972, three years after this film was made, but the themes in it are still relevant and important to me. Maybe I’m the last of a certain kind of American; someone wondering about what’s still possible in the USA, and searching for the realized potential of the American Dream. Perhaps what has changed since this film was released is that freedom – that is, real freedom, just doesn’t matter as much to people as it once did. Self-enslavement is a popular past-time for today’s numb middle class; a group of people who, I am convinced, do not dream when they sleep.

This movie defined the road film genre, even though it was not the first of its kind. I owe a debt of gratitude to Fonda, Nicholson, and Hopper for pointing out a very real truth about America and its often twisted approach to “freedom.” By any standard, this is a film which should not be missed. It is a film I wish I had written myself.

I feel that way about a lot of things from the sixties, particularly the music. Sure, there was a lot of crap but what decade hasn’t had its share of crap (look at disco in the 70s). There were a lot of songs written and films made that are just as relevant today as they were then. Watch Easy Rider or listen to For What It’s Worth by Buffalo Springfield. (“There’s something happening here. What it is ain’t exactly clear…”)

Easyrider1970

 

Don’t Bogart That Joint My Friend by The Fraternity of Man
Album: Easy Rider Movie Soundtrack (1969) (Listed under the title Don’t Bogart Me)

“Don’t Bogart That Joint My Friend,” by The Fraternity of Man

Don’t bogart that joint, my friend
Pass it over to me.
Don’t bogart that joint, my friend
Pass it over to me.

Roll another one
Just like the other one.
This one’s burnt to the end
Come on and be a friend.

Don’t bogart that joint, my friend
Pass it over to me.
Don’t bogart that joint, my friend
Pass it over to me.

Ro-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o -oll another one
Just like the other one.
You’ve been hanging on to it
And I sure would like a hit.

Don’t bogart that joint, my friend
Pass it over to me.
Don’t bogart that joint, my friend
Pass it over to me.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.