The Masochism Tango


Today’s Quote: “Here is a challenge to any TV producers who might be reading this: Make a TV show, a light and silly comedy, with at least five really cute girls, who are in the buff 90% of the time, or at least topless. Man, would that lift the spirits of everybody.” — Eolake Stobblehouse’s blog (Domai founder)


I’d watch a show like that as long as it had good production values, good plot lines, good dialog, and good, clean humor. What are the odds of anyone in this country producing a sitcom like that?


I’m finally did it. After putting it off for well over a year, I finally backed up my files and put an OS on that new drive I purchased…over a year ago. It’s just been crazy fun! And the fun isn’t over. I still have a sh…, a lot of programs to put back on.

I haven’t been able to install the printer that’s shared off one of my servers. Every time I try, the system reboots without warning, which really sucks. I found a post about a similar problem on a tech forum site that suggested updating the NIC driver. It’s worth a shot. I could install the driver for the onboard NIC and try that. Hopefully, one of them will work. I seem to recall I had some BSOD or reboot issues when I loaded the old drive a couple years ago but it had more to do with the system board and video drivers. This time around the video was a piece of cake, no problems at all.

With 80 gigabytes of hard drive space that I don’t have to share with anyone (removable drive), I’m installing some stuff I didn’t have room for (or the OS was too flakey). I’ve installed a “professional” Web development application and I’m about to get started on some tutorials. Maybe I can get my site a little more standards compliant. I’m sure I’ll have to buckle down and study HTML, XHTML, CSS, and other Web stuff. I can’t afford real books so it looks as though I’ll be looking for free information on the InterWeb.

There’s a lot more free space on the old 40-gig drive now that I’ve removed my “data” files. Once I get my “new” drive fully loaded, Rob will inherit the old one.


My Gerburtstag is coming soon and I’d still like to drop ten more pounds from my waist and my tits. I’ve got a reward in mind if I meet my goal but I really don’t think there’s a ghost of a chance that “She who must be obeyed” will give me permission to accept it. I’m trying to think of acceptable alternatives but I’m drawing a blank.

And speaking of shooting drawing blanks, Number 31 is in only 16 days and you all know how clueless I am. Let’s see, jewelry is out and so is a new Lexus. Clothing is too risky since I have absolutely no sense of style or size. I can’t think of anything she “needs” or wants. If she’s sending out any clues, they’re too subtle to be picked up by my radar. I need a sign written in big, block letters, with pictures. If I’m lucky, I may be able to afford a card and dinner.


An_Evening_Wasted_With_Tom_Lehrer

 

The Masochism Tango by Tom Lehrer
Album: An Evening Wasted with Tom Lehrer (1959)

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “The Masochism Tango”

  1. Printer installed!
    I haven’t been able to install the printer that’s shared off one of my servers. Every time I try, the system reboots without warning, which really sucks. I found a post about a similar problem on a tech forum site that suggested updating the NIC driver.
    And by golly it worked!

    Like

Comments are closed.