Sunday Viewing


Today’s Quote: “Adam and Eve entered the world naked and unashamed – naked and pure-minded. And no descendant of theirs has ever entered it otherwise. All have entered it naked, unashamed, and clean in mind. They entered it modest. They had to acquire immodesty in the soiled mind, there was no other way to get it. … The convention miscalled “modesty” has no standard, and cannot have one, because it is opposed to nature and reason and is therefore an artificiality and subject to anyone’s whim – anyone’s diseased caprice.” — Mark Twain, Letters from the Earth


Sunday evening viewing
What will my viewing pleasure be tonight? Will I watch “The Dark Ages” on the History Channel or “The Lost Tomb of Jesus” on the Discovery Channel? I’m more inclined to revisit the Dark Ages, sounds like a lot more fun. As for the tomb of Jesus, I agree with one expert who, when asked whether it could really be Jesus’ tomb, he said “Sure, Jesus was a very popular name back then.” Whether or not it’s the tomb of the Jesus, as in Jesus Christ, Superstar, that can’t possibly be proven. Whichever you want to believe, it’s a matter of faith.

I did settle on the Dark Ages. It wasn’t all as dark as it made out to be but it wasn’t fun times either. I’m sure the Jesus thing will be aired again and again and again so I’ll catch it eventually. In my mind, whether it was actually the ossuary of Jesus Christ is absolutely unprovable unless they get DNA samples from a proven descent of Jesus (with a fully documented pedigree back to the first century) or God himself. I seriously doubt either will happen so, for now, Christianity is safe.


Paul-Thorn-Aint-love-strange

Where Was I? by Paul Thorn
Album: Ain’t Love Strange (1999)
Quite possibly the saddest song I have ever heard.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.