Big and Fat (32)

Today’s Quote: “If man were meant to be nude, he would have been born that way.” — Oscar Wilde


Well, there’s one thing I can say for Windows XP. It won’t lead you to believe that you can format a 160GB FAT32 partition; NTFS is the only option it will offer. Windows 2000 will say, “Sure I’ll format that big ole FAT32 partition for ya.” It will try and show you that it’s trying but, ultimately, it will give up and say, “Sorry, the volume is too large.” It turns out that, and I should have known this, 2000 and XP will only format up to a 32GB FAT32 partition. That’s not very useful when you’ve got a 160GB drive.

Normally, I wouldn’t format a drive that large using FAT32; NTFS is obviously a better choice. But I use this drive to create, store, and apply Ghost images using a CD that boots to DOS (an extinct OS that won’t die), which has a few problems reading NTFS. The cluster size on a large partition like that is huge but most of the files I’m dealing with are over a gigabyte in size.

Now that I’ve overcome that obstacle, I’ll be able to reload the image to my laptop this weekend, install my favorite apps, and when I have it just the way I want it, I can create an image for it since I know I’ll have to reload it again. After all, it is Windows.


Foolishly, I’ve compiled a list of things I’d like to accomplish this weekend. If I actually do anything on the list, I’ll be amazed although you’d probably never detect it in my demeanor. Strangely, therapy is not on the list.


Three doctors are discussing which types of patients they prefer. Doctor Watson says, ”I prefer librarians. All their organs are alphabetized.”
Doctor Fitzpatrick says, ”I prefer mathematicians. All their organs are numbered.”
Doctor Ahn says, ”I prefer lawyers. They are gutless, heartless, brainless, spineless, and their heads and rear ends are interchangeable.”


Santana_-_Santana_(1969)Evil Ways by Santana
Album: Santana (1969)
Written by Peter Green of Fleetwood Mac.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “Big and Fat (32)”

  1. 10 days
    By the way I’ve made it through the first 10 days of my Lenten vow. Yeah, I counted Sunday. (Sin does not observe the Sabbath.)

    Like

Comments are closed.