Pure as the Driven in Snow

Mountain – Nantucket Sleighride

Today’s Quote: “The greater good and individual liberty are not opposites. In fact, nothing which suppresses individual liberty could ever help the greater good. Great accomplishments often are built by groups, but the idea and the vision and the drive always comes from an individual.” — Eolake Stobblehouse


It took me 2 ½ hours to get home this evening. I figured taking I-75 would be absolute insanity so I took the main side streets (Dixie – Stroop – Woodman/Harshman – Brandt). Traffic was heavy but, for the most part, moving and the roads were crappy but passable. The truck handled it well. I had to pull into a couple of parking lots to break the ice off my windshield wipers so I could see where I was going. It was almost like a sauna inside the truck but I didn’t want to turn down the heat or the fan as that was helping keep the windshield clear. I’ll have to buy new wipers soon unless I still have the last pair stashed behind the seat. I don’t usually throw away my wiper blades when I replace them. Too many times I’ve had to put them back on for one reason or another.

I had to jumpstart the van this morning so I was concerned about her getting home. It took her about an hour to drive from Wright-Patt. I’m probably going to have to buy a battery for the van soon. I’m not looking forward to that. I’m not looking forward to installing it either, especially if it’s a cold as it has been lately. It’s got to warm up eventually, right? I think I may need to get new jumper cables soon too. It’s always something.


Nantucket Sleighride by Mountain, Nantucket Sleighride (1971)

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

2 thoughts on “Pure as the Driven in Snow”

  1. They let us out at 3:30 but I didn’t get home until 6:30. I had to take surface streets up to I-75 (at 741). Did max 5mph on streets, 20mph on the highway. I had the defroster on full blast the whole way so I had to take my coat and sweat jacket off on the way here. My wipers froze up a few times but the defroster managed to get it down again. Not much fun there.

    Like

    1. Not fun at all. I left about 4:30 and got home a little before 7. I was able to do 20-25 mph most of the way. One of my wiper blades is totally mangled. This weather sucks.

      Like

Comments are closed.