Ripped On The Fourth Day Of Saturnalia

Eric Clapton – After Midnight

Today’s Quote: “When you come to the end of all the light you know, and it’s time to step into the darkness of the unknown, faith is knowing that one of two things shall happen: either you will be given something solid to stand on, or you will be taught to fly.” — Edward Teller (1908-2003)


On the fourth day of Saturnalia, my true love gave to me … nothing. I don’t know how it slipped by me but Saturnalia officially began on Monday. Alas, I’ve been unable to find my Saturnalia spirit either. I gave up drunkenness and debauchery over 30 years ago and I haven’t really missed it.


This morning when I squatted to pick up a large box (lift with your legs, not your back), I heard the sound of fabric tearing. I looked down, expecting to see that which should not be seen in polite company, but the front of my jeans was intact. I felt around and discovered I’d ripped out the ass of my jeans, along the right pocket. (I’m glad I wasn’t freeballing today.) This time I didn’t have any duct tape handy. Oh, what to do. Going home to change just didn’t seem practical. It was 12:30 already and a trip home and back meant I wouldn’t get back to work until about two and I was already planning to leave around 4:30 anyway. I went with Plan B. I went to Target and bought a new pair of jeans.

Once I got the Target, the challenge, other than finding the men’s department (cleverly hidden behind Lingerie), was finding the right waist size in my length. I don’t get it. They say this country is experiencing an “obesity epidemic” yet most of the pants I found were for skinny guys and some for the truly obese. There wasn’t much in between. I finally found a pair of Wrangler’s for $14.99 (plus tax). I paid for them then went into the restroom to put them on. The weather was nice and warm today but I’d still rather not be feeling the breeze there.


After Midnight by Eric Clapton, Eric Clapton (1970)
A great song written by J. J. Cale who also wrote Cocaine. This song was on Clapton’s first solo album. Classic.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.