Victim of Mythology

Bob Marley – No Woman No Cry

Today’s Quote: “We are all victims of mythology in one way or another. We are the inheritors, and many times the propagators, of a desire to believe what we want to believe, regardless of whether or not it is true.” — J.V. Stewart


The “Holiday Gathering” wasn’t too oppressive. It’s probably the best approximation of social interaction I experience in a given year where English is the predominant language.


In the last month, I’ve lost ten pounds! I’m back down to 200 pounds of blubber. I attribute the loss to the Crud and starvation. That violent, hacking cough undoubtedly burned a lot of calories. And it’s hard to stop the pounds from shedding when there isn’t anything to eat to replace those calories. Today is grocery shopping day and I’m secretly hoping I can have some influence (yeah, right) and get her to forgo the usual junk and get things that actually fit into my health and fitness goals.

I’ve simplified my goals. I’m not really setting a target weight or timetable although I sort of have a target in mind. I’ve stripped away all the fluff and determined that the whole point of losing weight and getting healthy boils down to vanity. I want to look good naked. Everything else is icing on the cake.


I really don’t have any influence. I have no idea why I bother with the delusion that I might.


Honest opinion, were the chin whiskers I was sporting last month working? I know my experiments with a full beard have been rather scary but the chin growth, does it have potential?


No Woman No Cry by Bob Marley, Natty Dread (1975)
This is one of my favorite Bob Marley songs. I think I first heard it on Babylon By Bus. I was living in the barracks back in 1980, I think. I forget who I borrowed the album from.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.