The Political Event Of The Season

Derek And The Dominoes – I Am Yours

Today’s Quote: “I love California . I practically grew up in Phoenix .” — Dan Quayle
For the life of me, I can’t understand why Dan Quayle is not President. He’s so obviously qualified for the office.


Tonight is the annual concession to “face time,” the company Christmas party (or Holiday Gathering if you want to be politically correct about it). As one of my coworkers stated, it would look bad on the new boss if his charges didn’t make an appearance at his first company “holiday gathering.” When I submitted my RSVP, I hadn’t even considered the office politics aspect of it. My reasons for attending were more basic. I wasn’t doing anything else and it’s a free meal. Yeah, I’ll have to endure some long winded speeches, award presentations that I really don’t care about, and I’ll be with people I’d just as soon not see socially, but the food at these things is usually pretty good and it’s free. That my attendance helps make me look like a dedicated employee doesn’t hurt either, I guess. The new boss will look good and everyone will be happy. I doubt we’ll stay long after the meal. I hear there will be a DJ or something but I don’t dance nor do I usually enjoy other people’s taste in music. I’m still “recovering” so I can always use that to my advantage.


I Am Yours by Derek And The Dominoes, Layla And Other Assorted Love Songs (1970)
1970 was such an incredible year for music. This album features a lot of incredible guitar work by Clapton and Duane Allman.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.