You Only Thought You Missed Me

The Doors – Been Down So Long

Today’s Quote: “The difference between a violin and a viola is that a viola burns longer. ” — Victor Borge


Late yesterday afternoon I felt positive signs of life in my disease-wracked body. As I became increasing frustrated by half-assed technology, I first felt a tingling, which soon grew into the life giving flow of cynicism, crankiness, and grumpiness that makes me feel so alive. Yes, world, I’m on my way back. And you only thought you missed me. Starting now, the world can get in line, take a number, bow down, and kiss my sore, puckered anus.


What’s up with Bob Evans? We had dinner at the Merrily Way location yesterday and once we got our meals, I found myself wondering if we’d somehow ordered from the Senior menu by mistake. (The bill said otherwise.) I ordered an open-faced roast beef sandwich. The menu claimed it was served on “Texas Toast” but comparatively speaking, it was more like Rhode Island. Actually, it looked like a barge from Manhattan on its way to New Jersey. It was pitiful sight to behold. To say I was disappointed would be a gross understatement.


Been Down So Long by The Doors, LA Woman (1971)
The song was supposedly inspired by Richard Farina’s 1966 novel Been Down So Long It Looks Like Up To Me. Farina died in a motorcycle accident two days after it was published. Interestingly, Morrison died shortly after this album was released. The album is one of my favorites and it totally rocks. A lot of my favorite songs by the Doors are blues covers or original blues recordings. Of course, LA Woman has special significance for me.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.