Naked and Dangerous

The Guess Who – American Woman

Today’s Quote: “We don’t necessarily discriminate. We simply exclude certain types of people.” — Colonel Gerald Wellman, ROTC Instructor.


Friday, I’m glad to say, went much better than Thursday.


Naked suspects: No laughing matter
“If someone is naked in public and is not drunk, not making a radical political or social protest, or not a paid professional like a stripper, the chances are overwhelming that they’re in the midst of a full-blown psychotic episode. In the vernacular, they’re really, really crazy…and potentially very dangerous.” — Dr. Bill Lewinski, executive director of the Force Science Research Center at Minnesota State University-Mankato.
Let me see if I’ve got this straight. If I’m naked in public and I’m not A) drunk, B) protesting, or C) naked professionally, then I must be D) Psychotic and dangerous, possibly homicidal. There must be a lot of crazy and dangerous nudists out there.


Clothing-Free Escape is a news article about the Rock Haven naturist camp in Murfreesboro , Tennessee. Sounds like a nice place to visit. Only 50,000 nudists in the U.S.? I haven’t seen any official numbers but I was fairly certain there were more than that.


American Woman by The Guess Who, American Woman (1970)
This started as an on-stage jam. At one of their shows, when their break ended, lead singer Burton Cummings was not to be found (girls may have been a factor). The rest of the band decided to just wing it and started playing the famous riff that became the basis for the song. Cummings heard the group, ran back on stage and started singing the words “American Woman” and going on from there. The lyrics are a scathing commentary on America’s imperialistic attitude at the time of the Vietnam War. The Guess Who are Canadian. Some of the lyrics were inspired by a problem the band encountered at the Canada/US border involving the Vietnam War draft. Due to the anti-American lyrics, the band was not allowed to play this when they performed at the White House for President Richard Nixon in 1970. The first time the band performed this was before 150,000 people at the Seattle Pop Festival in 1969. The crowd loved it even though they had never heard it. This is one of the most misinterpreted songs ever. Despite a very clear lyric: “American Woman, get away from me,” Americans often hear it is a patriotic ode and a tribute to American women. (Wikipedia article about the song)

Don’t Americans ever listen to the lyrics? These are probably the same dumb asses who think Springsteen’s Born in the USA is a patriotic song. (Maybe CSNY’s Ohio should be the state song.) People just pick out certain lines and use that as the whole premise for their belief system, much like the way they quote scripture. Someone could come out with a song called American Dumb Ass and people would think it was patriotic anthem and a tribute to all the dumb asses in America. Hmm, let me try out … “American dumb ass, get away from me…” Hey, I like it. It could be a hit since we pretty much worship and idolize dumb asses anyway.

American Woman is one of my all time favorite songs and the album is one of my top favorites too. Back when I was in the circus and I’d have a really crappy day, I’d come back to my dorm room, put American Woman on the stereo, and crank up the volume. And it was good. I never heard it as anything other than what it was, a great rock ‘n’ roll song. By the way, the live version really rocks.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.