Stupid And Pointless

Steppenwolf – Magic Carpet Ride

Today’s Quote: “The most likely way for the world to be destroyed, most experts agree, is by accident. That’s where we come in; we’re computer professionals. We cause accidents.” — Nathaniel Borenstein


Princess Clara on Drawn Together is either religiously mixed up or she just represents the worst aspects in all of Christianity (or both). In tonight’s episode she went on about the Rapture, an idea that dates back to Scotland in 1830. (There’s no mention of it in Revelations or anywhere else in the Bible). But anyway, the cliffhanger ending left me wondering if I want to wait for the next season. Maybe next season they will call it the Captain Queer-O Hero Show.


Tonight’s South Park was stupid and pointless. No further comment is necessary.


I submitted my request to take my last vacation day on Pearl Harbor Day. Why the hell not?


Magic Carpet Ride by Steppenwolf, Steppenwolf The Second (1968)
The group wrote this based on the bass line their bass player, Rushton Moreve, came up with. The only words he had written for it were, “I like my job, I like my baby.” Lead singer John Kay wrote the lyrics. He got inspired when he put the demo tape in a home stereo system he bought with the royalties from their first album. That’s where he came up with the line, “I like to dream, right between my sound machine.” This was the second big hit for Steppenwolf. Born To Be Wild was released a few months earlier. They were on different albums, with Born To Be Wild on their first and this on their second, although this was released well before their second album came out. The band’s contract with ABC Dunhill required them to record two albums a year.

Well, you don’t know what we can see
Why don’t you tell your dreams to me
Fantasy will set you free

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.