Convene the Council

Black Sabbath – Jack the Stripper/Fairies Wear Boots

Today’s Quote: “The word ‘genius’ isn’t applicable in football. A genius is a guy like Norman Einstein.” — Joe Theisman, NFL football quarterback & sports analyst.


Britain Wide Open To Alien Invasion
According to Nick Pope who headed the Ministry of Defense’s research into UFO sightings, the British government is shockingly underprepared for an attack by extraterrestrials. (Yeah, like we’re any better prepared on this side of the pond. Given the track record of the DHS, we’d be better off reconvening the Jedi Council. At least they have credibility.)


I heard a radio ad for a sale at Dick’s Sporting Goods today and a couple of things got caught in the lint trap of my mind.
1. They’ll sell you a gun safe but not a safe gun.
2. Why do I need a range finder? I go into my kitchen and there it is to my left.


I think I know why most of the world hates us. It’s because we have such enormous penises. (I just watched a rerun of the Chinpokomon episode of South Park.) Really, it’s the only reason that makes sense.


I’m thinking about scheduling my last remaining vacation day for December 7th. I work for a Japanese owned company and I’m going to take a day off for Pearl Harbor Day. Seems appropriate somehow.


Jack the Stripper/Fairies Wear Boots by Black Sabbath, Paranoid (1970)
Jack the Stripper is the intro to Fairies Wear Boots. It is listed as its own song on U.S. versions of the album. The song is about Skinheads. At the time in England, Skinheads were not racists, but punks and anarchists. They usually wore boots, which is how Sabbath got the title. The lyrics were inspired by an incident after a Sabbath concert in 1970. The band was attacked by a bunch of Skinheads after the show, injuring Tony Iommi and forcing them to cancel their next performance.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.