Free Speech And Other Offers Too Good To Pass Up

“Weird Al” Yankovic – Dare To Be Stupid

Today’s Quote: “As Americans, we must always remember that we all have a common enemy, an enemy that is dangerous, powerful and relentless. I refer, of course, to the federal government.” — Dave Barry, quoted on a sign on a Ph.D. student’s door at Marquette University. The sign was ordered removed by officials at the university because it was critical of the federal government. Apparently, the hallway the door faces is not a “free speech zone.” (link)

I was unaware that there were officially designated locations where the First Amendment does or does not apply. Does King George know about this? I’m sure his henchmen the Republinazi faithful already have the “No Free Speech” signs printed and are in the process of determining where to place them. I’m sure they’ll be able to get the hoi polloi to do the physical labor on their behalf.


Pam Anderson’s poker palace goes tits up
pampoke
There’s no way I could resist that headline. Apparently, her venture into the wonderful world of online gaming was cut short by the recent enactment of anti-gambling legislation. From the article:

Pamelapoker.com was the latest attempt by a Hollywood celebrity to cash in the Texas Hold’em craze that has swept across the US in the last few years, but unfortunately for the artificially enhanced Canuck, her timing proved even worse than her acting.

Other tidbits from the article also include insults from Brad Garrett (Everybody Loves Raymond).


“Weird Al” Yankovic: An Interview About Humor
A look into the mind of “Weird Al”? Nonetheless, it’s an interesting interview.


You got to hand it to Time. In today’s mail, I received a DEMAND FOR DELINQUENT PAYMENT notice (for the magazines they haven’t been sending me). They also sent me an offer for a subscription with a senior citizen discount. Tough choice. Do I send them the $26 they’re demanding or $19 for a senior citizens’ subscription with an additional 6 months added at no extra charge. Let me do the math… I think I’ll write “Cancel” across the invoice and sent it back as soon as I get some stamps (after payday). I’ll have to think about the other offer. I wonder if they have a big stack of magazines sitting in a warehouse in New Jersey, just waiting for my payment.


If I upgrade to Dish Network’s TotalChoice Plus package, I’ll get a Spongebob skateboard and I’ll be able to watch enough cartoons to cause irreversible brain damage. It’s a very tempting offer.


Dare_to_Be_StupidDare To Be Stupid by Weird Al Yankovic, Dare To Be Stupid (1985)
This song is a parody of the Devo style. The video makes clear links to Devo costumes and videos. It captures Devo’s style in both sound and lyrics. Mark Mothersbaugh of Devo says that the song came out when Devo was unable to recreate their own sound and he hates Al for being able to do them better than they could at that difficult time for the band.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

2 thoughts on “Free Speech And Other Offers Too Good To Pass Up”

Comments are closed.