210 to 170, or bust

“Weird Al” Yankovic – Fat

Today’s Quote: And God said, “Let there be vodka!” And He saw that it was good. Then God said, “Let there be light!” And then He said, “Whoa – too much light.” –unknown


I noticed yesterday morning that my backyard is completely carpeted in leaves and the tree is nearly bare. The front yard also has a carpet of leaves and the maple tree is mostly bare. I guess it’s time to fire up the lawn mower one last time this year and see how many leaves I can mulch into oblivion so I don’t have to herd them to the curb. Remember the good old days when you could rake them into the driveway and burn them? Ah, the sweet smell of burning leaves. Those were the days.


I would like to point out that the “John Boehner for Congress” sign is in my neighbor’s yard and does not in any way infer my support for him. I just wanted to make that clear. As for Mr. P, I won’t hold it against him.


I can still parallel park. When I went out for lunch the first parking spot I saw was between a Jeep and a Grand Prix. I pulled up along side the Jeep and decided to give it a try. I slipped the truck in there on the first try. I still got it. I think the last time I parallel parked was about 13 or 14 years ago.


Fat by “Weird Al” Yankovic, Even Worse (1988)
Fat is a parody of Michael Jackson’s Bad and Al’s second parody of a Michael Jackson song. He had done a parody of Beat It called Eat It on his 1984 In 3-D album. Reportedly, Jackson enjoyed the parody and allowed Weird Al to use the same subway setting for the video.

I found a bunch of parodies in my collection incorrectly attributed to the King of Parody and fixed many of them using The Not Al Page. Even a lot of the lyrics pages incorrectly attribute the songs to him. Just because it’s parody, it isn’t necessarily Al.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.