I am fat. Fat I am.

Elton John – All the Girls Love Alice

Today’s Quote: “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” — Dr. Seuss


halloween2006_09
Before we went out trick or treating on Halloween night, Adam took a picture of me holding Nicholas. Of course, Nicholas is absolutely adorable in his skunk costume, sticking out his tongue in a act of defiance against parental authority. I, on the other hand, look old, fat, and like … ah … someone’s grandfather. Actually, in nearly all the pictures that have been taken of me with my grandchildren, I look very grandfatherly. But this one scared the bejeezus out of me. It doesn’t fit my self-image at all.

It gets worse. I caught a glimpse of my nude profile in a full length mirror (not a sight for the squeamish) and my first thought was, “Who is that old pregnant woman?” I hadn’t realized what a rack I had. I stepped on the scale last night and found that I have actually gained ten pounds. I thought I had shed a few pounds but that perception was way off. I just know my doctor is going to bitch me out on Monday. Please, don’t send any of that surplus Halloween candy over to my house.


All The Girls Love Alice by Elton John, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (1973)
This is a look into the gay lifestyle of England through the eyes and lyrics of Bernie Taupin, Elton’s songwriting partner. He made up the tragic story of a young lesbian who died in the streets. The lyrics for Elton’s Goodbye Yellow Brick Road also contain many homosexual references to “unnatural acts.” (Hm, I’m going to have to listen to that song a little more closely.)

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “I am fat. Fat I am.”

  1. Lose while gaining
    My doctor seemed happy that I “lost” 4 pounds. I was under the impression that I had gained weight since my visit in April. I guess it’s a difference in weighing methods. They weigh me fully clothed and I weigh myself fully unclothed.
    They didn’t weigh me today. I told the nurse I weighed myself the other day and I was 210 pounds. My fully clothed weight at my last visit was 214. So the doctor believes I lost weight. It’s better than having him bitch at me for gaining.

    Like

Comments are closed.