File Recovery Blues

David Allan Coe – You Never Even Called Me By My Name

Today’s Quote: “By this you may see who are the rude and barbarous Indians: for verily there is no savage nation under the cope of Heaven, that is more absurdly barbarous than the Christian World. They that go naked and drink water and live upon roots are like Adam, or Angels in comparison of us.” — Thomas Traherne (1636-74), English clergyman, poet, mystic. Centuries, “Third Century,” no. 12 (written c. 1672; first published 1908).


The data recovery effort went rather well. I wasn’t able to recover everything but I saved a lot more than I initially thought I would. Many of the missing files are inconsequential although a number of digital photos were lost. I may still be able to recover some from zipped archives. Running chkdsk on the drive recovered a lot of bad clusters but wasn’t enough to save any more files.

I have the drive slaved on the secondary controller of the computer I set up for the kids. I’ll leave it on there a while so Rob can recover his own home folder. I may see if he has anything in his music and videos I might want. Occasionally, he does listen to something I like.

Right now only a little under 7GB has been used; almost 6GB of that is Rob’s stuff he had in the public directory. His home folder will be another 10GB. Damn! His crap was taking up three quarters of the drive space on that server? That boy needs his own computer or his own file server.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.