Miss Naked Saturdays

The Doobie Brothers – Taking It To The Streets

Today’s Quote: “Being naked approaches being revolutionary; going barefoot is mere populism.” — John Updike (b. 1932), U.S. novelist, critic. On the Vineyard, “Going Barefoot” (1980; repr. in Hugging the Shore, 1983).


Naked Sundays and Christina Aguilera’s naked weekend
The first is essentially a comment on the second. I don’t get excited that some celebrity likes to be naked. That Christina Aguilera and her husband like to spend one day a week naked together because they love the cosiness is kind of, well, heartwarming. They also cook together. She told Cosmopolitan magazine: “We have our taco night. He cooks the meat and I chop the tomatoes and the lettuce. It’s important to take time for your spouse and nurture the relationship.” Isn’t that sweet?

The author of the blog suggests that couples consciously set aside naked time together to enjoy their nudity, unwind, and de-stress. That sounds like good advice to me, a great practice for anyone who feels like they’re in their clothes more than they should be.


It’s not claustrophobia although it could be a second cousin, once or twice removed. It’s more of a general feeling of confinement and restriction that I feel everywhere. Every place I occupy seems too small. My cubicle seems too small, my little sanctuary seems crowded, and my house feels less spacious. Even my clothing feels confining. There’s clutter and crap lying around. I’m asking myself, “How much of this crap is really necessary or even desirable?” Ultimately, it’s my decision as to what crap stays and what crap needs to be tossed out of my life.


Plan a party! Dia de los Muertos is Nov. 1 (HP Newsgram in today’s e-mail). I don’t know about anyone else but that subject line is more than a tad creepy. For those whose knowledge of Spanish is limited, Dia de los Muertos is Day of the Dead, the Mexican equivalent of All Saints Day. I don’t know how they observe the holiday in Mexico but my exposure to All Saints Day tells me that it’s a very solemn affair for many Catholics, hardly a reason to party. Why must we Americans abduct everyone’s holidays and traditions and corrupt them? Not every holiday is a reason to get inebriated, some are very subdued and solemn occasions. As long as I’m on a holiday rant here, not every holiday requires an exchange of gifts and cards.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.