Still On Double Secret Probation

The Temptations – What Becomes Of The Broken-Hearted

Today’s Quote: “I used to wear boxers and a tank top, but now I sleep in the nude. It’s kind of weird, because I used to have to wear something to bed, whether it was a tank top or whatever. And now if I have any clothes at all on, it’s really hard to get to sleep.” — Laura Prepon (“Hot” Donna in That 70s Show)


Good news! Mountain Dew does not cause your testicles to shrink nor does it lower your sperm count. (But it will still rot your teeth.) The myth was that the Yellow Dye #5 in Dew causes the aforementioned effects on a man’s dangly bits but it doesn’t have much more of the dye than other foods. But it may make your pee yellower. Other than the dental hazard, aren’t you relieved?


The West Carrollton Wendys is still on double secret probation. I was going to stop in today to see if they’d mended their ways but I never even made it inside. I came in the back entrance, as is my custom, and circled around the building to park in the north parking lot. Driving around the building I noticed that the end of the drive-thru line was one car length from the pickup window. I quickly figured the odds of obtaining swift and courteous service inside would be remarkably low. With that, I left and went to McDonalds, which was also crowded, but the wait wasn’t intolerable.

I’ve got to wonder about the person in the car at the end of the Wendy’s drive-thru line. Is the food so good that it’s worth the wait to get to the point where they can actually take your order? I’m sorry, but the food simply isn’t that good. The wait I’m willing to endure for fast food is relatively short, not more than a couple of minutes. Even if they were giving it away, I wouldn’t wait any longer than that. I’ve demonstrated my intolerance for waiting on many occasions over the years but, to date, the fast food industry hasn’t taken the hint. Could it be that I’m the only one who is unwilling to wait for “fast food”?

In the meantime, that Wendys will have to remain on double secret probation a while longer. Sorry, maybe next time.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.