Obligatory 9/11 Rant

Today is the fifth anniversary of the 9/11 terrorist attacks. I shall not watch television today because the media will undoubtedly overdo it. I think it’s an anniversary that’s best observed quietly. It was a terrible tragedy in loss of life and government ineptitude. I could go into a lengthy rant but I’ll reserve comment. Over the weekend, my usual television haunts like the History and Discovery channels were nothing but the rehashing of 9/11. When I did watch TV, it was Comedy Central, the Cartoon Network, or Nickelodeon. Personally, I don’t need to be reminded; I still remember it and I’m not likely to forget it in my lifetime. It’s in the past; it’s history. While we need to remember the past and learn from it, we shouldn’t become obsessed with it. We need to bury the dead, honor the heros, learn from our mistakes, and move on.

Meanwhile, the war on terrorism stumbles on blindly. In a sense, the terrorists of the world have won by radically changing the way we live. They have made us paranoid and fearful. They have made us believe that we must now trade freedom and liberty for the illusion of safety. If we feel we must give up liberty for safety, then we deserve neither (Ben Franklin). Almost everything the Bush administration and Congress have done in the last five years has been reactionary, short sighted, and ineffective. That pretty much sums up the entire Bush presidency.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.