Double Secret Probation

ZZ Top – Arrested For Driving While Blind

Today’s Quote: “To be pleased with one’s limits is a wretched state.” –Johann Wolfgang von Goethe


I have placed the Wendys in West Carrollton on double secret probation after standing in line for several minutes before the line finally moved. It was in the middle of the lunch rush and they only had one register open at the counter. Other than the people standing in line, the place wasn’t crowded nor was there a long queue at the drive-through. By the time the line actually moved, I saw nothing to indicate that it might move again anytime soon so I scowled and excused my way through the patrons behind me. I went to McDonalds were I was served immediately, courteously, and cheerfully. The burger and the fries weren’t quite as good but the difference wasn’t worth the wait in line.

I’m not one who enjoys standing in lines. It ranks near root canals in the list of my least favorite things to endure. If the service sucks for no obvious reason then I’ll take my hard earned money somewhere else. Come on, it’s “fast food” for crying out loud! Anyway, I may go back there in a couple of months to see if service has improved. I really do prefer their burgers, fries, and chicken sandwiches to just about every other fast food chain.

What is the Daytonian fascination with traffic congestion? Nearly everyone seems to thrive on it and they’re always busting ass to be in the thick of it. I just don’t get it. Could someone please enlighten me to the joys of this phenomenon?

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “Double Secret Probation”

  1. Lemmings
    I’m starting to believe the denizens of Dayton are lemmings. Each wants to be the first to run headlong over the cliff. Lemmings with mullets, now there’s a visual for you.

    Like

Comments are closed.