Insult me some more, why don’t ya?

Joe Cocker – Feelin’ Alright

Today’s Quote: “On the fourth day of telecommuting, I realized that clothes are totally unnecessary.” — Dilbert


AOL Search Log Profiles is interesting and amusing reading. So that’s what the hoi polloi are up to when they go online.


Insulting radio ads revisited
Here’s the scenario. An 18-year-old is shopping for school clothes with his mom at the mall. She asks the guy at the cell phone store where she can find argyle socks and tan loafers for her son. The salesman sells them a cell phone package and mentions they can find sneakers at the store next door.

I have a couple of problems with this scenario. First, no self-respecting 18-year-old goes shopping at the mall with his mother; that will cause irreparable harm to his social status. Secondly, I resent the implication that all adults, especially parents, are idiots unless they’re selling you something. It’s as if sales people are the only ones who know anything. My experience with people in sales indicates that they are generally clueless, even about the product or service they sell. All they know is what the idiots in marketing tell them. As for parents being clueless morons, I take them on a case by case basis. I’ve seen plenty that fit the stereotype but a lot of parents are more aware and more hip than their children realize or are willing to admit.

My feeling is that marketing folks, while quite successful at what they do, don’t really have a clue when it comes to the real world. Maybe they do but the advertising I see doesn’t bear that out. I really don’t understand how insulting me is going to turn me into a loyal customer. Perhaps the rest of the buying public likes to be insulted and buys all this crap because they don’t want to appear to be stupid. The hoi polloi is being manipulated willingly.

Whatever happened to the good old days, before mediocrity reigned supreme?

Feelin’ Alright was written by Dave Mason and has been performed by himself, Traffic, Three Dog Night, and Joe Cocker. Others may also have covered it but these are the ones I’m aware of.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.