Technology Bites

Led Zeppelin – The Lemon Song

Today’s Quote: “You can’t read a newspaper if you can’t read.” — George W. Bush


That’s right, folks. Technology bites . . . the big one. My help desk queue is full of problems begging for solutions. It really sucks when you’re level one, two, and three tech support all rolled into one. I’m dealing with hardware, software, OS, accessories, printers, infrastructure, disaster recovery, the phone system. If it somehow interfaces with a microprocessor, it’s fair game. I just wish I knew what the hell I was doing.

There are some days when I think my best course of action would be to sacrifice a chicken, sprinkle its blood over the motherboard, and read entrails. You’d have thought computers would have became a legitimate science by now but it still has more in common with the black arts than real science. After all these years, I still find demonic possession to be a valid diagnosis. Unfortunately, immersion in holy water tends to void warranties.

In that same vein, I’ve been putting off my own Windows reinstallation for at least 7 months now. It’s not getting any better but I really don’t want to deal with it and I don’t trust anyone else to deal with it. I know that eventually I’ll have to do it. I’m just so tired of dealing with OPC (Other People’s Computers).


The Lemon Song by Led Zeppelin
This is very similar to a Blues song by Howlin’ Wolf called Killing Floor. It was so similar, Wolf was eventually given a composer credit. Some lyrics are from Blues singer Robert Johnson’s Traveling Riverside Blues. Led Zeppelin played Traveling Riverside Blues for a BBC session in 1969, but the song was never released on an album. It was placed on their Box Set in 1990, and was also a bonus track on the Coda album for the Complete Studio Recordings. No electronic devices were used to create the echo on Robert Plant’s vocal. It was made by the acoustics in the studio and by his voice. This contains a lot of sexual references (“squeeze my lemon”). Some people were offended, but Zeppelin’s fans didn’t have a problem with it. Led Zeppelin recorded this in Los Angeles when they were on their second tour of America. Plant often made up lyrics when he sang this live, usually making them even more sexually suggestive.

Robert Johnson was a major influence on Jimmy Page.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.