The end of an odd-numbered month

Grand Funk – The Locomotion

Today’s Quote: “Before we set our hearts too much upon anything, let us examine how happy those are who already possess it.” — Francois de La Rochefoucauld


My fingernails are driving me nuts. I’ve caved and trimmed most of them back to their super short length. A “normal” length just doesn’t feel natural. They look like hell too. If I let them grow out a bit, it might be possible to trim them properly but in the interim, oh well. I can’t seem to do anything with my hair either. My personal space is a disorganized mess, my wardrobe could probably use some help, and my culinary skills just aren’t what they used to be. Where’s the Fab Five when I need them? Could it be that I need gay men in my life?


My Firefox bookmarks is crowded with blogs I never read any more. I should probably do some housecleaning and toss some of them aside. I’ve lost interest in the Catholic blogs. Let’s face it, I’ll never understand Catholicism, the Da Vinci Code aside. I don’t even read Scott Adams’ blog as religiously as I used to. There’s a host of others I don’t look at much anymore — the Henry David Thoreau journals (I probably should read those), the left-wing alarmist blogs, and a few others.

I faithfully read a few LJs and their friends when there’s something new. One blog I read regularly is one known as Blonde Champagne, written by a 20-something woman from Cincinnati who teaches English 101 to pilots at a technical college in Florida while she aspires to be a published author. She has written some delightful pieces for MSNBC online. Even if I don’t agree with her point of view, I always find her writing humorous and entertaining. She has a way of turning a phrase. I have to like anyone who describes the odor inside Toys R Us as the smell of “plastic and despair.” She writes the way I wish I could, again.



The Loco-Motion was first recorded by Little Eva and hit #1 in 1962. It was written by the husband and wife songwriting team of Carole King and Gerry Goffin. Little Eva was the babysitter for their daughter Louise. They had Eva record it simply to demo the song, which was intended for Dee Dee Sharp. Producer Don Kirshner was impressed by Eva’s vocal on the demo tape and had her record it. This was a #1 US hit for Grand Funk in 1974. It was only the second time the same song became a #1 for 2 different artists. The first was Go Away Little Girl by Steve Lawrence in 1962 and Donny Osmond in 1971. That song was also written by King and Goffin. (I hated both versions of Go Away Little Girl.)

More information:
Little Eva
Grand Funk
Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.