Never throw anything away

Hoyt Axton – Never Been to Spain

Today’s Quote: “I’ve never been to Heaven, but I been to Oklahoma. They tell me I was born there but I really don’t remember. In Oklahoma, born in a coma. What does it matter?” — Hoyt Axton, Never Been to Spain


Tuesday, July 25, 2006, a day that will live forever in oblivion but will otherwise be forgotten by most of us.


When I got to Troy this afternoon, I had planned to tackle one of my many impossible help desk issues. Instead, I get a call from my boss and he has what is known in the trade as an “opportunity to excel.” The former president of the company has a computer, into which he would like to have a 300 GB hard drive installed and have his OS and data transferred over. He’d like to keep the old drive in the system as an additional drive. So far, not much of a challenge. I get the computer and it’s a Compaq. I begin to sense a potential for trouble. I note that there are only two internal 3.5″ bays. One is occupied by the hard drive and the other by a floppy. I can easily mount the old drive n the bay under the CD-ROM drive but I’ll need a mounting kit. I thought I had the necessary hardware but now I can’t find it. I probably threw it out because I couldn’t think of any use for it. Isn’t that always the case? You need it a month after you throw it away.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.